jump to navigation

Poem a Day January 26, 2010

Posted by moonblue in writing.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I was given a beautiful leather-bound diary for Christmas. The problem is that I already had a diary for 2010, one of a more manageable size to keep in my bag.

While wondering what to do with the page a day diary I hit on a idea. It is possibly crazy, but could be fun. I would challenge myself to write a poem a day. Every day. For the whole year. Yikes!

Of course I realise that I will not actually achieve this goal. And a lot of what I write is going to be rubbish. But, if I at least manage to write a poem on some days there is a good chance that at least some of the poems will be worth working on. And I will have an interesting poetic account of my year (I will try to let the poem be inspired by something that happened that day).

Every now and then I will post a poem here and report on progress.

Does anyone else have crazy writing goals or challenges?

Comments»

1. davidseven - January 30, 2010

I remember you mentioning the ‘poem-a-day’ idea last year, and I considered it for a while. Luckily I got over that, and now I feel better. šŸ™‚

What I am trying for this year is to write a short story every month, and to actually start trying to get some of them published. It took me a year to perfect my last one, and now I need to get it off my hands.

Also I am planning to write 100,000 words this year. I discovered a cool site called WriYe 2010 where you can choose a goal, and try achieve it. I figure with NaNoWriMo 2010 I will be half way there anyway, and the re-write I’m doing on my novel should help as well.

D7


Leave a Reply

