jump to navigation

Can you hear it? June 29, 2010

Posted by moonblue in Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback

No, this is not a reference to the vuvuzela chorus which is accompanying the Soccer World Cup. You would be hard-pressed to avoid those delicate tones anywhere in the country. As the playwright Mike van Graan noted in his play Bafana Republic : One man, one note.

But I am thinking about the World Cup. Again, it would be quite hard to avoid it in South Africa. Soccer fever has taken hold and it is difficult to talk about much else at the moment.

This world cup started off with a music concert, featuring top local acts such as Freshlyground, The Parlotones, Lira, Vusi Mahlasela and others, as well as international performers like Shakira, The Black Eyed Peas, John Legend, and of course, K’naan. While the official theme song might be Waka Waka by Shakira and Freshlyground, the song that everyone seems to be singing along to is K’naan’s Wavin’ Flag.

In the run-up to the world cup, several radio stations announced that they would be playing on African music for the month of the event. I thought that was a wonderful idea. How better to introduce the foreign visitors to the country than through its music. And to encourage the wave of “proudly South African” emotion.

Sadly, I scrolled down on the online article announcing this news. I really should not read the comments on newspapers, they usually just make me angry or irritated. Or depressed at the prejudice and stupidity of so many people. Needless to say there was a chorus of horror at being forced to listen to local music. What got me, apart from the negativity, was the automatic assumption that South African music would be bad.

Which made me wonder how often they listened to the radio. South African musicians are producing wonderful material. I will often be listening and enjoying a new song, and then find out it was a South African artists. Just this Saturday I was listening to the Top 20 on my local radio station and there were four or five South African singers represented.

So, as part of my world cup festivities, and proudly South African fervour, I decided to only listen to South African music for the month of soccer. Admittedly I have been watching tv more than listening to music (you know, that soccer they keep showing:) but when my cd player goes on, it is a local cd spinning inside.

The Parlotones and Freshlyground feature quite strongly in the line-up, along with Steve Newman, Tony Cox and Johnny Clegg. My most recent acquisitions are a cd by the Soweto String Quartet, which I am really loving, and a cd by the Boulevard Harmonists, bought at their show at the arts festival.

And of course, every time a certain cold drink advert comes on I launch into a song about flag waving. Oh oh oh oh….

So what is your soccer soundtrack?

Comments»

1. davidseven - June 29, 2010

One man, one note.

I like that.

2. moonblue - June 30, 2010

Particularly noticeable when played at four in the morning. So not ayoba! Actually, even if someone plays my favourite song at that time I will not be impressed. But vuvuzelas are an especially bad wake-up call.

3. davidseven - July 3, 2010

Ordinary people trying to be paarp stars I suppose.
🙂

4. moonblue - July 5, 2010

Very funny davidseven. I have a new cd living in constant repeat. Guy Buttery playing acoustic guitar. I saw his show at festival and he is amazing. One cd I had to get.


Leave a Reply

